RSS
Video

I Know Its Christmas When I Hear These Pop Tunes!

22 Dec

Christmas is so around the corner, I know I’ll hear it knocking on my door any second now. But we’ve all known that Christmas was about to descend upon us from the moment we heard Christmas songs being blared from the radio. I know a lot of people complain about Christmas songs – and quite frankly I think there might be something wrong with them – but I absolutely love them. It doesn’t matter whether they’re hymns, carols, or pop songs – if it’s Christmassy, I’m bound to love it!

Thinking back to the days of Top Of The Pops, discovering who was at the top of the charts with the Christmas number one was one of the highlights of the festive season. I’d say that within the last twenty years or so, the Christmas number one didn’t always have a Christmassy theme but nonetheless, they still bring back memories of Christmas.

Unfortunately or fortunately, depending on how you look at it, I don’t really follow mainstream chart music anymore. It’s just not as good as it used to be in my opinion (and I’ve been told that my views indicate that I’m most definitely getting old!)

Old or not, there are some pop songs that to me just scream Christmas and bring back a lot of childhood memories. The festive season just wouldn’t be the same without these songs. If you came over to my house on Christmas morning, these songs would be played on repeat. So in no particular order:

1. Do They Know It’s Christmas? Band Aid

The brainchild of Sir Bob Geldof and Midge Ure in order to raise money for the victims of the Ethiopian famine, the original version in 1984 featured a whole host of stars which read like a list of who’s who in British pop. It was the first time I’d ever seen a huge number of pop stars collaborate together like this, so I was totally in awe. Of course, I was too young to understand that it was a charity single and thought that the likes of Bananarama, Paul Young, Wham!, Culture Club, Phil Collins, Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet, Paul Weller and a whole host of famous faces had formed a massive band – and would be putting out singles as a collective. So naturally I was confused when they went back to working as individual acts.

So far, four versions of this song have been released with the most recent one being this year, thirty years after the original was released, featuring among others Bono, Seal, Paloma Faith, One Direction, and Chris Martin. However the original along with the second version from 1989 which featured Kylie Minogue, Lisa Stansfield, Sonia, Chris Rea, Cliff Richard and Bros.

But whichever version I listen to, it never fails to make me feel incredibly emotional.

2. Last Christmas, Wham

I really do think this could be my ultimate Christmas song. But then I probably say that about all Christmas songs. Nonetheless there’s some very special about this Wham! track from 1984. My aunts were massive Wham! fans back in the day and would buy every record on the day it was available to buy in the shops, so to say we grew up with the sounds of Wham! is an understatement and probably explains why we love this track so much. However, Wham! duo George Michael and Andrew Ridgely were kept off the top spot by Band Aid but thirty years later this song is till played every Christmas without fail on radio stations, shops and households everywhere.

I also love the sentimental video in which gorgeous George experiences the pain of a lost love – and furthermore has to see ‘lost love’ flirting with a only too happy to oblige Andrew! Every time I watch that video I think ‘Damn, I live the eighties!’ – and laugh at George’s tumble in the snow!

3. I Still Believe In Santa Claus, New Kids On The Block

I first heard this track when our music teacher played this track in class in order for us to answer questions on it: time signature; what instruments can be heard etc.

To be honest I wasn’t really bothered with answering the questions as I was totally taken with the song – and not just because it was by New Kids On The Block. True, Joey, Jordan, Donnie, Danny and Jon can do no wrong in my eyes but it was such an emotive, meaningful song and little Joey’s vocal’s sounded so cute on it. Taken from their platinum selling Christmas album from 1989, Merry, Merry Christmas, I Still Believe In Santa Claus wasn’t released in the UK as a single. The equally amazing This One’s For The Children taken from the same album was released here instead, but for me, there’s something super special about I Still Believe In Santa Claus.

4. The Power Of Love, Frankie Goes To Hollywood

I absolutely love this song from 1984 (what is it with me and Christmas tracks from 1984???)  and I adore the video even more. There’s something so poignant about this  song and I get very emotional listening to it – and I positively blub when I watch the highly evocative video. As far as I know, the video for The Power Of Love is the only one to illustrate the real meaning of Christmas  (sorry people, it’s not all about trees, Christmas shopping stampedes and the Queen’s speech) and it’s so beautifully depicted. Well done Frankie Goes To Hollywood!

I remember when I first heard the song being announced on TOTP, I thought Frankie Goes To Hollywood were doing a Jennifer Rush song! But as fantastic as her song was, I’m so glad they did this one instead.

5. I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day, Wizzard

This song from 1973 was a bit before my time, but from the moment I first heard it aged eleven, I loved it. It’s exactly the kind of song to get the family dancing around to on Christmas morning. You cannot sit down to I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day! It’s more than forty years old but it could beat more current Christmas tunes hands down. It seems hard to believe but the band, led by Roy Wood, who looks like Santa’s free-love, hippy dippy, younger brother were kept off the top spot that year by Slade and their equally fab Merry Xmas Everybody.

Typical. You wait for one good Christmas tune to come along…

6. Step Into Christmas, Elton John

This is another song from 1973 which I first heard when I was about eleven (again) and I thought it was great. Before I heard this track, most of the Christmas songs I’d heard and that were played at home were the ones you’d sing around the piano. Too bad we didn’t have a piano at home – we always had keyboards but it’s not quite the same! Anyway the man with the piano and the big glasses, Elton John (or Sir Elton John as he is called now) proved that you could play songs at a piano and get people grooving. And groove we did to this fantastic Christmas song.

7. Mistletoe And Wine, Cliff Richard

Mistletoe and Wine is a 1988 Christmas classic from the legendary Cliff Richard, and he clocked up his twelfth UK number one with this hit. My mum absolutely loves this song, and thinks she’s at karaoke every time  she hears this song. But then she is a massive Cliff fan.

A beautiful and meaningful song, it’s so evocative of Christmas. I can’t remember how many weeks this song was at the top spot for, but it seemed as though Cliff was never off TOTP!

8. Merry Xmas Everybody, Slade

I think this song is definitely a family favourite. I still have memories of my aunt singing this song so loud, I’m sure the neighbours who lived at the end of the street could hear her. British glam rockers, Slade released this in 1973 and it went to the top of the charts, giving the band, fronted by Noddy Holder their sixth UK number one – and preventing Wizzard from hitting the top spot.

9. 8 Days Of Christmas, Destiny’s Child

I was a huge Destiny’s Child fan and I loved the girls’ take on the Twelve Days Of Christmas carol. I know this song came in for a lot of criticism, (but then what song doesn’t) and I don’t think it’s gone down as a Christmas masterpiece, but I like this song and it reminds me of my entrance into adulthood. Plus there’s the mention of ‘dirty denim’ in the song lyrics, which really takes me back!

10. I’ll Be Missing You Come Christmas, New Kids On The Block

OK, OK, you get it, I’m a huge New Kids fan. But that’s not the only reason why two New Kids On The Block songs have made this list. This is another Christmas song that I just have to hear during the festive season each year. It’s slushy and sentimental and just perfect for Christmas. Also love Jordan’s falsetto!

 

gingham-apron-pie-lady2.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 22, 2014 in The Sound Of Our Youth

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
rock, metal and more

All about music and other entertainment

Murder Mystery Blog

Corporate Murder Mysteries

LHB Blog

A girl, a blog and a cactus named Pudding

Tangled Up In Music

Music Reviews

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

YOU & HOME

Deco · Gastro · Style

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

The Artisan Duck

Ramblings from my crafty corner.

Suburbiakid's Blog

Teen Ramblings from a suburban kid in the 1970's

My Eighties

Remembering what it was like to grow up in the '80s. Twitter: @MyEighties

Something Definitely Happened

A vintage fashion and style blog

Health News Library

Your On-Line Source for Alternative Health Care Solutions

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Fitness on Toast

A Fitness Blog about Gym Training, Sport Fashion, Healthy Nutrition and Active Travel – By Faya Nilsson

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Radical Departures

Infrequent blabbering about films, music, telly, beauty, Sheffield and other random stuff

goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

~~~ lovely buns ~~~

~simple, delicious, beautiful, scrumptious bits and bobs to eat~

The Nostalgia Blog

Your source for everything retro. 70s, 80s, 90s and beyond!

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

The Sconnoisseurs

Recipes and recommendations from the sconnoisseurs

Midday With Mindy

Encouraging Words From A Young Wife :)

Enjoy by Paula

be happy, healthy & radiate positivity

