RSS

Bum Deal With Bum Bags

27 Jun

Fanny Pack. I mean, er, bum bag!

Fanny Pack. I mean, er, bum bag!

Honestly, Hubby and I do have riveting conversations but the other night for some reason the topic of conversation was er, bumbags! Hubby was shocked to discover that in England they are called bumbags. I was shocked to discover that in America, they are called fanny packs. Hubby was shocked when I told him what fanny meant in England. I, in return was shocked, when he told me that in America, fanny meant bum. It was a night of shocking revelations indeed. Christmas Eastenders had nothing on us!

imagesCAWXADBJ

It dawned on both of us that as popular as they were in the 1980s and early 1990s, they now seem to have vanished off the face of the earth. With the exception of someone I trained with back in January who wore one everyday (we have no idea why!) nobody owns a bum bag/fanny pack anymore. Or at least nobody we know. To be honest, I’m not surprised. They may have been the height of fashion at one time but to be honest they were a bit naff! I’m not sure why, but I never actually owned one though I did want a bum bag as everyone had one and they seemed to be really cool. The closest I got to having a bum bag was the purse belt I had to wear as part of my school uniform when I started secondary school. I was thrilled when I first got my purse belt… but the novelty soon wore off.

Mr. Motivator was a fan

Mr. Motivator was a fan

As handy as I’m sure they are, especially for runners, joggers and other sporty types, I don’t generally see the point of a bum bag. Surely that’s what pockets and regular bags are for. I am surprised to discover that bum bags are still readily available; production has not ceased. You just have to go online to see the huge variety available.I just haven’t seen them in stores for years. And with the exception of that one person, I haven’t seen anyone wearing them. However, the fact that they are still being made means that someone is buying them. But the question is, who?

If I ever change my mind about bum bags, this is the one I'm most likely to wear

If I ever change my mind about bum bags, this is the one I’m most likely to wear

Answers on a postcard please!

gingham-apron-pie-lady2.jpg

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
rock, metal and more

All about music and other entertainment

Murder Mystery Blog

Corporate Murder Mysteries

LHB Blog

A girl, a blog and a cactus named Pudding

Tangled Up In Music

Music Reviews (and other things)

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

YOU & HOME

Deco · Gastro · Style

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

The Artisan Duck

Ramblings from my crafty corner.

Suburbiakid's Blog

Teen Ramblings from a suburban kid in the 1970's

My Eighties

Remembering what it was like to grow up in the '80s. Twitter: @MyEighties

Something Definitely Happened

A vintage fashion and style blog

Health News Library

Your On-Line Source for Alternative Health Care Solutions

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Fitness on Toast

A Fitness Blog about Gym Training, Sport Fashion, Healthy Nutrition and Active Travel – By Faya Nilsson

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Radical Departures

Infrequent blabbering about films, music, telly, beauty, Sheffield and other random stuff

goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

~~~ lovely buns ~~~

~simple, delicious, beautiful, scrumptious bits and bobs to eat~

The Nostalgia Blog

Your source for everything retro. 70s, 80s, 90s and beyond!

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

The Sconnoisseurs

Recipes and Recommendations

Midday With Mindy

Encouraging Words From A Young Wife :)

Enjoy by Paula

be happy, be healthy & radiate positivity

