RSS

The Coolest Pyramint In The World

16 Jun

I love having “ooh, I remember that” moments. The memory of something long forgotten hits me like a tidal wave and brings out my inner child. And one thing that took me back to days gone by was a commercial I stumbled across for Terry’s Pyramint. They may be better known for their Chocolate Orange – which thankfully is still in production and I’ve just remembered I have one tucked away for later – but back in the 1980s, Terry launched the Pyramint. Resembling an Egyptian pyramid – hence the name- it was made with dark chocolate and the hollow pyramid was then filled with a mint flavoured fondant, similar to that in an After Eight mint. It was also available in the form of chocolate bars containing pyramid segments.

pr

Even though I remember Pyramints – and I instantly remembered the television commercial when I saw it again – I cannot recall the taste of Pyramint which is a great pity. I do remember, when learning about the ancient Egyptians at infant school, that they built things called Pyramints – just like the chocolates! The pyramid shape is quite unusual for a chocolate and as far as I can recall, I haven’t seen a pyramid shaped chocolate since Pyramint.

pyramint

Pyramint was most definitely a unique concept and there wasn’t anything remotely like it around at the time of production. Researching the origins of Pyramint showed that Terry’s had noticed that there was a demand for fondant filled chocolate eggs which were a hit especially at Easter. But Terry’s wanted to produce a non-seasonal filled chocolate so came up with the pyramid shape idea.

pack

Terry’s discontinued Pyramint just before the 1990s which is such a shame, at least for me because mint and chocolate is one of my favourite flavour combinations. I also loved the pretty green packaging which was quite unique. The small pyramid shaped cardboard box, featured the design of chocolate coloured palm tree silhouettes against a deep green background. One side of the of the pyramid would open for the chocolate to slide out. Those I spoke to who remember Pyramint also recalled the fabulous minty aroma as the box was open and how thick the chocolate walls of the Pyramint were.

Wrapper for Pyramint bars.

Wrapper for Pyramint bars.

Apparently, despite being quite successful on launch, Pyramints didn’t last very long in shops and quickly disappeared due to being quite expensive (between fifty to seventy pence) and they were not easy to eat due to it’s unusual shape. It was not unheard of to end up with a faceful of minty goo!

However, I really would love to see this unusual chocolate back on store shelves. Maybe I should go on a mission to convince Terry’s to relaunch Pyramint.

Come on Terry’s – bring back Pyramint! I would buy them for sure!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Coolest Pyramint In The World

  1. Kevin Fisher

    March 11, 2015 at 7:47 pm

    if you cant remember how they taste try shoving 8 after 8s in your gob at the same time and hey presto

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. jennypugh

    June 23, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    I have had so many people tell me over the years that I was making this up as they didn’t remember it! I remember eating one while listening to Michael Jackson performing live at Roundhay Park in 1988 when I was 9 as my grandparents lived near the venue and we could hear the concert perfectly from their garden 🙂

    Like

     
    • darkangelrocks

      June 23, 2013 at 7:10 pm

      Well now you can have great satisfaction in telling everyone that you were right. To be honest, Pyramint couldn’t have been around for very long because people either don’t remember it at all or only vaguely remember it – me included! It was the advert that brought it all back.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
rock, metal and more

All about music and other entertainment

Murder Mystery Blog

Corporate Murder Mysteries

LHB Blog

A girl, a blog and a cactus named Pudding

Tangled Up In Music

Music Reviews

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

YOU & HOME

Deco · Gastro · Style

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

The Artisan Duck

Ramblings from my crafty corner.

Suburbiakid's Blog

Teen Ramblings from a suburban kid in the 1970's

My Eighties

Remembering what it was like to grow up in the '80s. Twitter: @MyEighties

Something Definitely Happened

A vintage fashion and style blog

Health News Library

Your On-Line Source for Alternative Health Care Solutions

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Fitness on Toast

A Fitness Blog about Gym Training, Sport Fashion, Healthy Nutrition and Active Travel – By Faya Nilsson

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Radical Departures

Infrequent blabbering about films, music, telly, beauty, Sheffield and other random stuff

goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

~~~ lovely buns ~~~

~simple, delicious, beautiful, scrumptious bits and bobs to eat~

The Nostalgia Blog

Your source for everything retro. 70s, 80s, 90s and beyond!

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

The Sconnoisseurs

Recipes and recommendations from the sconnoisseurs

Midday With Mindy

Encouraging Words From A Young Wife :)

Enjoy by Paula

be happy, healthy & radiate positivity

