RSS

Comfort Food #5: Eccles Cake – The Cake That’s Not Really A Cake!

14 Jun

Despite the fact that I’ve always had a weird love-hate relationship with ‘dried grapes’ i.e. sultanas, raisins and currants, I’ve always had a liking for Eccles cakes. My mum bought one for me from the bakery as an after school treat when I was very young and I thought they were yummy. Eccles cakes are still readily available but for some reason, I stopped eating them and I don’t think I ever scoffed an Eccles cake in adulthood. Until last week, that is, when my lovely aunt bought me one to take to school (I’m now a teacher but my aunt thinks I’m still five!)

2010_03_29-EcclesCake4

“Hmm…,” I thought, “I wonder if these are still as good as they used to be.”

And they were! They tasted amazingly good and every bit as tasty as I remembered; I was so annoyed with myself for missing out all these years. Eccles cakes originate from the town of – wait for it – Eccles! The town in Greater Manchester gave it’s name to this (full) moon shaped cake which, strictly speaking, is more of a pastry than a cake: buttery, flaky pastry with a sweet current filling. It is not known who invented the recipe or when although Eccles cakes are believed to have been in existence for more than 300 years.

EcclesCakes-026

They may look quite plain and simple but they are comfortingly delicious and really hit the spot. I remember they were quite popular when I was a kid (and I’m from London!) but in the last fifteen years or so, I don’t think I’ve heard anyone even mention an Eccles cake let alone tuck into one. Like the cream horn, it’s in danger of baked goody extinction!

I won’t leave it another 15 years before I have my next Eccles cake and this recipe has inspired me to do a little home baking!

EcclesCakes-026

INGREDIENTS:
For the quick flaky pastry

175g (6oz) butter
225g (8oz) plain flour
little cold water, to mix

For the filling

25g (1oz) butter
100g (4oz) currants
100g (4oz) sultanas
25g (1oz) mixed peel
85g (3½oz) light, soft brown sugar
zest 1 lemon and 1 orange, plus 1tbsp orange juice
pinch cinnamon
egg white, to glaze
caster sugar, to sprinkle

METHOD:
1. Make the pastry. Weigh out the butter, then freeze in foil for 1 hour. Sift the flour into a bowl, then use the foil to hold the butter. Grate it into the flour using a coarse grater. Add a little water, around 3tbsp, to form a dough. Don’t use your hands, but mix in with a flat-bladed knife. Pat into a round, then wrap in cling film and chill for 45 minutes.

2.Put all the filling ingredients in a pan, cook gently for 5 minutes and allow to cool. Roll out the pastry to the thickness of a £1 coin, cut out circles using a 10cm (4in) cutter – re-roll the pastry as necessary. Brush the edge of each pastry round with a little water, place 2 heaped tsp of filling in the middle of each, then close the ends up and pinch together, turn the cakes over and pat them down gently to flatten them, until the fruit becomes visible through the pastry. Chill for 20 minutes. Heat the oven to 200 C, 180 C fan, 400 F, gas 6.

3. Lightly beat the egg white until frothy, then glaze the tops. Cut 3 small slashes in each cake, sprinkle with caster sugar and bake on a baking sheet lined with parchment for 25 to 30 minutes until golden brown and bubbling.

gingham-apron-pie-lady2

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
rock, metal and more

All about music and other entertainment

Murder Mystery Blog

Corporate Murder Mysteries

LHB Blog

A girl, a blog and a cactus named Pudding

Tangled Up In Music

Music Reviews

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

YOU & HOME

Deco · Gastro · Style

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

The Artisan Duck

Ramblings from my crafty corner.

Suburbiakid's Blog

Teen Ramblings from a suburban kid in the 1970's

My Eighties

Remembering what it was like to grow up in the '80s. Twitter: @MyEighties

Something Definitely Happened

A vintage fashion and style blog

Health News Library

Your On-Line Source for Alternative Health Care Solutions

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Fitness on Toast

A Fitness Blog about Gym Training, Sport Fashion, Healthy Nutrition and Active Travel – By Faya Nilsson

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Radical Departures

Infrequent blabbering about films, music, telly, beauty, Sheffield and other random stuff

goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

~~~ lovely buns ~~~

~simple, delicious, beautiful, scrumptious bits and bobs to eat~

The Nostalgia Blog

Your source for everything retro. 70s, 80s, 90s and beyond!

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

The Sconnoisseurs

Recipes and recommendations from the sconnoisseurs

Midday With Mindy

Encouraging Words From A Young Wife :)

Enjoy by Paula

be happy, healthy & radiate positivity

