RSS

Bloggers Rock Too!

26 May

blog

A comment that was made on morning television really annoyed me this week. A guest on a talk show – who I shall not name as I don’t want to give her any publicity on my blog – declared how she was a real writer and that that was what she was paid to do, while there are people out there who call themselves writers but really ‘they just have a blog’. I’m so incensed by this comment that I don’t know where to start!

Amy Adams plays writer Julie Powell in Julie and Julia

Amy Adams plays writer Julie Powell in Julie and Julia

Everyone writes blogs for different reasons and true there are some who start blogs and add a couple of posts before realising that they are just not dedicated enough to maintain their blog so simply abandon the idea. For the rest of us however, it’s the chance for us to write about something we’re passionate about; share our views, knowledge and ideas with the world, and exercise our writing muscle! Of course most bloggers would be lying if they said that they didn’t wish for their blog to lead to bigger things (paid writing jobs for a start!) and I for one must admit that the film Julie and Julia was more than a little inspirational for me ( incidentally the nostalgia theme runs deep throughout this fantastic film.) However if we’re not fortunate enough to go on to even greater things, we’ll be thrilled just writing for our blogs and keeping our readers happy.

The real Julie Powell, writer and blogger

The real Julie Powell, writer and blogger

Since childhood, it was obvious to my family that I would go on to achieve a career that involved writing as I was always writing stories and poems during my years at primary school before composing songs when I hit my teens. And when I wasn’t writing, I had my head stuck in a book, completely oblivious to what was going on around me. Sadly, after completing my MA degree, I saw just how thin on the ground writing jobs were. Actually that’s not totally true. writing jobs were abundant – if you were prepared to work for nothing at all! And in the early days, desperate to develop my portfolio, I did. I landed some great unpaid writing gigs from editors who claimed to really like my style of writing but unfortunately these obviously did not pay the bills. After being messed about by an editor, I reached the end of my tether and decided to pull the plug on the ‘working for free’ business and get a job where I would get paid for my efforts. So I now teach English which I absolutely love. And even though the pay isn’t great – the important thing is that there is a wage slip every month!

So true!

So true!

Have I given up on my dream of writing and having more than ‘just a blog’. Of course not but I’ve made a promise to myself not to work for absolutely nothing ever again. After all, a hairdresser, architect or accountant won’t work on an unpaid basis so why should I? And even though my blog is still in it’s infancy stage, I love writing for Nostalgia Pie. I’ve already had some great comments which is lovely to hear. I figured that if I have to write for free then I would do so on my own terms and most importantly for myself – not people who wish to gain from my efforts and not give anything back. Which is why, Ms. Snooty Writer, I ‘just have a blog.’ Though I’d like to think it’s a great one.

And to all my fellow bloggers out there, keep up the great work! I love reading your work.

gingham-apron-pie-lady

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 26, 2013 in I Don't Believe It!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
rock, metal and more

All about music and other entertainment

Murder Mystery Blog

Corporate Murder Mysteries

LHB Blog

A girl, a blog and a cactus named Pudding

Tangled Up In Music

Music Reviews (and other things)

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

YOU & HOME

Deco · Gastro · Style

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

The Artisan Duck

Ramblings from my crafty corner.

Suburbiakid's Blog

Teen Ramblings from a suburban kid in the 1970's

My Eighties

Remembering what it was like to grow up in the '80s. Twitter: @MyEighties

Something Definitely Happened

A vintage fashion and style blog

Health News Library

Your On-Line Source for Alternative Health Care Solutions

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Fitness on Toast

A Fitness Blog about Gym Training, Sport Fashion, Healthy Nutrition and Active Travel – By Faya Nilsson

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Radical Departures

Infrequent blabbering about films, music, telly, beauty, Sheffield and other random stuff

goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

~~~ lovely buns ~~~

~simple, delicious, beautiful, scrumptious bits and bobs to eat~

The Nostalgia Blog

Your source for everything retro. 70s, 80s, 90s and beyond!

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

The Sconnoisseurs

Recipes and Recommendations

Midday With Mindy

Encouraging Words From A Young Wife :)

Enjoy by Paula

be happy, be healthy & radiate positivity

