RSS

5-4-3-2-1: Where Did It Go?

26 May

I really showed my age the other day when overhearing my colleague singing 5-4-3-2-1, the infectious Manfred Mann hit. The locked door to the lost memory vault in my brain suddenly burst open.

“Hang on,” I said, “wasn’t that the name of a chocolate bar?” I even had a vague recollection of the advert.

“Yes it was,” replied my colleague, ” are you trying to tell us that you’re older than you look?”

Sadly yes.

54321

But back to the choccy bar, 5-4-3-2-1 was a blink-and-damn-you-missed it chocolate bar that was around for an ever so brief time in the 1980s before finally being discontinued in 1989. I remember the television advert featured the Manfred Mann classic and that the wrapper was in primary colours with 5-4-3-2-1 emblazoned across it in bold, yellow digits. However, I couldn’t quite remember what the chocolate bar contained but after interrogating everyone I knew who was around then, I understand that a 5-4-3-2-1 bar consisted of wafer; fondant; crisped rice, and caramel covered with thick milk chocolate. It sounds delicious but the fact that people barely remember it (I think I must have scoffed these only a handful of times myself) means it couldn’t have been around for very long before it’s makers pulled the plug on it. I do wish they’d bring it back though – I’d love to try them again.

And you have to check out the advert. It even features Ted Rogers!

gingham-apron-pie-lady2.jpg

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “5-4-3-2-1: Where Did It Go?

  1. Naomi Anna Lillian Webb

    July 14, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    This was my favourite chocolate bar in the 80’s (I believe this may well be mostly due to the fantastic advert with that catchy Manfred Mann tune). I too would love to try it again, but sadly I now have coeliac disease and almost certainly wouldn’t be able to! I used to get these in my stocking each Christmas and my Nanny and Grandad always had a packet in the cupboard when I visited. I don’t remember the wrapper looking that retro in those days, it just goes to show how long ago it was…. yes, I too feel extremely old now.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • darkangelrocks

      July 19, 2015 at 8:23 pm

      Thank you very much for your comment. I would very much like to try it again too but I doubt there’s any chance of it being resurrected. Unless someone starts up a Facebook group -‘Bring Back 5-4-3-2-1!’ Haha. I’m sorry to hear that you have coeliac disease – if they do bring back this fab choccy bar, let’s hope there’s a gluten free version.

      Thank you for sharing your memories 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Jackman James

    April 16, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    Yes I remember them fondly as well my first taste of one was at a birthday party when I was 5 years old & living in Cramlington in the North-West of England. I was so fond of them after that that I use to get my mum to buy them from Texaco stores/now a part of Tesco supermarkets.

    I use to have them in my school lunch box along with a sandwich & pack of salt n shake crisps and a apple/banana.

    I am going to keep this anonymous because I don’t want any junk emails or calls.

    Wed 16/4/2014.

    Like

     
    • darkangelrocks

      April 20, 2014 at 8:34 pm

      Thank you for your comment. It’s lovely to hear someone else’s memories of this sadly, short-lived choccy bar. And Texaco – another blast from the past! Thanks again.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
rock, metal and more

All about music and other entertainment

Murder Mystery Blog

Corporate Murder Mysteries

LHB Blog

A girl, a blog and a cactus named Pudding

Tangled Up In Music

Music Reviews (and other things)

Every number one

Journey through all the songs that topped the charts

YOU & HOME

Deco · Gastro · Style

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

The Artisan Duck

Ramblings from my crafty corner.

Suburbiakid's Blog

Teen Ramblings from a suburban kid in the 1970's

My Eighties

Remembering what it was like to grow up in the '80s. Twitter: @MyEighties

Something Definitely Happened

A vintage fashion and style blog

Health News Library

Your On-Line Source for Alternative Health Care Solutions

My Berkeley Bowl

Making my way through the exotic fruits and vegetables of the Berkeley Bowl aisles, one delicious recipe at a time

Fitness on Toast

A Fitness Blog about Gym Training, Sport Fashion, Healthy Nutrition and Active Travel – By Faya Nilsson

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

Radical Departures

Infrequent blabbering about films, music, telly, beauty, Sheffield and other random stuff

goingplaceslivinglife

Travel, Food, and Slices of Life

~~~ lovely buns ~~~

~simple, delicious, beautiful, scrumptious bits and bobs to eat~

The Nostalgia Blog

Your source for everything retro. 70s, 80s, 90s and beyond!

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

The Sconnoisseurs

Recipes and Recommendations

Midday With Mindy

Encouraging Words From A Young Wife :)

Enjoy by Paula

be happy, healthy & radiate positivity

